Forum discussions are now taking place on Discord. For all account questions and concerns, please continue to contact Customer Support directly.

Keep updated on Pirate101 on Twitter @Pirate101, Facebook, Discord, and @KI_Alerts!

Buccaneers and PvE

AuthorMessage
Ensign
Aug 17, 2012
Boy, has this one been on my mind for a few weeks.

I first played the game in 2012. After enjoying it for a month, I ultimately left after getting fed up with Cool Ranch. This really shouldn't surprise anyone who played the game back then; Cool Ranch was a nightmare (White Buffaloons, anyone?). I started playing again recently and I can honestly say that it's a good and fun game. But playing through it as a Buccaneer has really shown me how imbalanced it is.

The first big issue is essentially in how the Buccaneer works. You become a lumbering behemoth and stand in the spotlight. You dish out moderate damage and take tons. Theoretically, it's a sound plan. But it doesn't work. Loud doesn't work. Because my Musketeers and Swashbucklers always put out more damage, I can't make the enemy focus their attention on me. While I may have the armor to tank the enemy, I can't force them to hit me.

Then there's the second issue; Peter Quint is a better Buccaneer than your pirate is. No, that's not an exaggeration. Blade Storm, Relentless 2, Vengeance Strike. Whale's Might, Brutal Charge, Super Strike. He has everything your pirate does, and can chain attacks better. This shouldn't be the case; companions should be a taste of the class, right? They shouldn't be the leading indicator of what that class is. And it's not as if Peter Quint is strong enough to warrant a nerf. He's not over powered by any stretch of the imagination.