Forum discussions are now taking place on Discord. For all account questions and concerns, please continue to contact Customer Support directly.

Keep updated on Pirate101 on Twitter @Pirate101, Facebook, Discord, and @KI_Alerts!

¡Hola! from El Kaboing

AuthorMessage
Developer
¡Hola!

I am a Sound Designer here at KingsIsle. I have always enjoyed reading the forums (especially the audio-related threads!), and am excited to now play a more active role as El Kaboing. I will be taking over for Sarah Steele in representing KingsIsle’s audio team here.

An introduction:

For Pirate101, I tend to specialized in combat, Puppetshows, and extra music. Nelson Everhart is our amazing composer for all the normal background tracks, but I sometimes compose additional music - such as the piano in the Cool Ranch taverns, the lyre in the "Ode to Eagilles", and my favorite: the musical stingers for all the critical attacks. I also love to record sounds when I am traveling, especially nature sounds, and sometimes they wind up in the game.

I play Pirate101 at home, too - my wife and I are a Musketeer / Privateer team. We like to order pizza and sit back and play through some quests on the weekends. We have fun and it is very rewarding to hear my sounds in the finished product.

Some random things I love about Pirate101:
  • The mix of strategy and cinema in every fight. You have meaningful decisions to make during the planning phase, and then you get to watch it all unfold.
  • Bonnie Anne is the best companion. She looks cool, I like her accent, her beefy gun sounds awesome, and it is fun to decide when I want to use that attack of hers that can hit a billion enemies at once.
  • Cool Ranch has my favorite music of Nelson Everhart's. Love the guitar!
  • Everyone is buffed at once now instead of one at a time. My Privateer loves to buff, so we appreciate the time-saver.
  • The writing! There is always something clever and funny.