Forum discussions are now taking place on Discord. For all account questions and concerns, please continue to contact Customer Support directly.

Keep updated on Pirate101 on Twitter @Pirate101, Facebook, Discord, and @KI_Alerts!

Pop culture reference No. 1

AuthorMessage
Ensign
Dec 31, 2012
Elemutation on Jun 20, 2013 wrote:
There are more correlations than just the turtle balls. Cao Tzu is Kind of Like Kame, the Dragon Ball's creator. not to mention that the for shrines are Like the Villages on Namek that holds the Namekian Dragon balls. And Wing Chung's Mega critical has what looks like a Kamehameha wave at the end.

I am a DBZ expert/Super fan. I will post any more if I find them.
I think you may be getting a case of pareidolia (i.e. seeing a real meaningful connection when it happens to be coincidence) there.

So, a few more, now that I've gotten a bit further.

Guy Fox was both a historical and pop-culture reference (and I'll be frank, I had the 1812 Overture playing in the background during his storyline).

There was also that one line either in the Fire Temple or during the Dragon Prince quest (I don't recall which), which began "I've seen things you pirates wouldn't believe..." The famous Blade Runner quote. I kind of have to say -- it felt a little shoehorned; I was hoping for it to be the final words of one of the head Clockworks, but ah well.

Also, Eagilles. "I'll be back." "GET TO DA PALACE!!" I swear, he's my favorite character now.

Gunner's Mate
Oct 11, 2012
CdeWinter on Nov 13, 2012 wrote:
My favourite so far the Monty Python reference during Gespard's fist promotion quest. "Nobody expects the Monquisition!"
I love that line!!!! It was based on the Spanish Inquisition routine from Monty Python's Flying Circus. In the routine it was"Nobody Expects the Spanish Inquisition!"

Ensign
Jul 10, 2009
RiverWhooshP101 on Mar 3, 2013 wrote: