Forum discussions are now taking place on Discord. For all account questions and concerns, please continue to contact Customer Support directly.

Keep updated on Pirate101 on Twitter @Pirate101, Facebook, Discord, and @KI_Alerts!

Camera angle restrictions...why?

AuthorMessage
First Mate
Sep 13, 2010
I've been playing Wizard101 and Pirate101 for like 5 years of my life now...never questioned the annoyance of not being able to get a bird's eye view of anything. And I've never questioned the inability to look upward when sailing.

Why do our cameras have these limits? There're some amazing landscapes and architectures in this game that I will never get a good look at because of this. I want my camera to be able to point anywhere.

If you guys decide to leave it as is, could you at least add crow's nests to ships? A great addition to them would be a mounted telescope. Interacting with one let you see in its PoV and pan or zoom the camera around, regardless of its angle. A vignette around the lens of the telescope, maybe a few dents/scratches on it, would be awesome. Pressing X again toggles back to the normal 3rd-person view of your pirate.

...so...it began with a question, that's why it's in A Pirate's Life...cya...

Captain
May 16, 2011
You can do that. Just click in open space, hold, and move around your mouse. Have fun.

~ Hank

Gunner's Mate
Dec 26, 2013
Thunder Hawk on May 18, 2016 wrote:
You can do that. Just click in open space, hold, and move around your mouse. Have fun.

~ Hank
Also, you can right-click and hold to move the viewpoint... when you release, the camera view will stay where you left it until you left-click again. Great for sailing through dangerous areas when you need to be able to look over the top of your sails to see what's directly in front of you. Or for those times you want to just sit at anchor and enjoy the scenery.

Lieutenant
May 26, 2013