Forum discussions are now taking place on Discord. For all account questions and concerns, please continue to contact Customer Support directly.

Keep updated on Pirate101 on Twitter @Pirate101, Facebook, Discord, and @KI_Alerts!

Finer Points of the Story, for Blind Mew

AuthorMessage
Lieutenant
May 21, 2009
Dear Blind Mew,
I am just wondering about what the inspirations were for some of the bits of Pirate101 that really fascinate me.

1. Shiruku Neko - Where did the idea of her story come from, and that of the Cao-Lin, her order?
2. The Armada - I am just curious as to where the concept behind an elite army of clockwork beings came from.
3. Mechanical Birds - What is their story and are they going to be readressed?

As a writer I am always fascinated by complex stories and that's what drew me to Pirate101!

Thank you!

Lieutenant
Sep 17, 2012
Developer
I love these kinds of questions!

Shiruku Neko - I believe her name literally means 'Silk Cat' or some derivation thereof. In terms of her story, it's a pretty standard martial arts tale of wronged masters and ancient rivalries. We didn't really have a good example of that kind of story in MooShu, and when the Ninja Cat got concepted, we realized she'd be a perfect fit. The quest also draws a lot of inspiration from Daredevil's backstory, especially if you look closely at her mentor's name.